Spain to Tangier to Fez

24 Jun

Originally I decided to go to Morocco via Spain. I thought it would be nice to see another country since it happens that at that time, in November 2013, I purchased a ticket cheaper than going straight there. Next time I would go straight to Morocco because I would like to see much more and especially the south

As it turned out, one of the most memorable parts of my trip was the most difficult.

I understood from my research that I needed to purchase any train tickets the day before. I had to take the metro across town to the train station. Well, I did get my ticket for the first leg of the journey. It included a bus ride to Algeceria.

I rode the metro back to my hotel which involved several stops. The next day when I went to catch the train, I made sure to get there early, however, when boarding time came, I discovered that I had mistakenly been directed to the wrong gate. It happened that it was on the opposite side from the gate I needed. So I ran with my luggage to catch the train, just in time to see it pull away one minute early!!

This meant I had to stand in two different lines to get a replacement ticket for the next day, since only one train went from Madrid to Algeceria, Spain. Awe, traveling! So I went back to a central metro station close to the train station. I needed to get another hotel. I decided to make things easier on myself since I wasn’t feeling that great, still suffering from jet lag and having eaten something that didn’t agree that well.

It was getting dark out. I’d heard from my friends who had been to Spain that they had been pick-pocketed, there, so I decided to find a hotel sooner than later. After 3 short blocks I happened upon THE CARLTON. Oh my, the elegance of the lobby stunned me. I hadn’t planned on staying in such a fabulous hotel, but the people sitting in the lobby with their laptops and smart phones lured me. I heard English, Farsi, French, German, and , of course, Spanish. I felt welcomed and settled in for the night, having to be at the station around 6 AM. I wished I were staying a week. I enjoyed olives and a beer. Heaven.

I slept well that night, got up and took a taxi to the station. I really pampered myself and wanted to catch the train to Algeceria to catch the bus and ferry to Tangier. I couldn’t wait to see this mystical town.

Well, this time I knew where to go. I also knew where I shouldn’t eat. The beef was off, I’m sure. So I had my miniature cup of coffee and was ready to board. I had heard that 1st class was worth it and just a little more, so I did that.

And yes, indeed it was. I relaxed and began taking movies. I will post some soon. The country side looked different from what I had seen anyplace else. I had traveled by train in Australia, Malaysia, and had even taken the Orient Express from Turkey to Amsterdam, and all had varied scenery. I’d never really seen donkeys out my train window. Also, it seemed that there were very few cars.

I was staying in Maggie’s home. (I discovered later that everyone in the old medina in Tangier knew her.)

Leave a Reply

